I Had Postpartum Depression

I can relate. I wish more women would talk about it. I wish women were not meant to feel bad or like it is there fault. I personally felt so much sympathy for Brittany Spears when she was being deomonized for her post partum depression. Bravo for this mom speaking out.

The Mother of the Year

photo-6

I haven’t told anyone outside of my close circle of friends and family, but I think it’s important I share that I had postnatal depression.  I want to clarify that I’m not talking about light baby blues – I’m talking about constant suicidal thoughts that required medical intervention.  I know this is supposed to be a funny blog, but I needed to write this because a lot of moms I know don’t really talk about this.  It’s not terribly funny or fun to chat about over coffee.  It seems a little embarrassing and it belies the happy, fun, ridiculous photos you post on social media.

But I had postpartum depression and it was terrible.  I want to explain the timeline of my depression – right after my baby was born, I was elated.  I didn’t feel sad at all and actually recovered from my C-section quite quickly.  Moira and I…

View original post 908 more words

About Vanessa Bednar

I am an actor, a writer, a mom, an adventurer.

Leave a Reply

