Parenting is NOT getting easier

I really thought it was getting easier. My kids are 9 and 13. They don’t have to be watched every 5 seconds. I even let Jett and his friend go to the park by themselves for 30 minutes yesterday! By themselves! No phone! Big step. Meanwhile when I was nine I was just let go on my bike and told ” be home by dinner.” Oh times have changed. I even think there were more kidnappings when I was a kid then now. We just hear about it more now. When a creapy guy used to follow me on my bike in his car as a kid I just pedalled faster to a house I knew. Now we would be dialling 911 and the FBI would show up.
Somethings though are the same….. When a friend broke my heart as a kid, adolescent, teenager, my heart would be crushed. I would cry, sob. How could someone I cared for so much be so mean? Now a days that same hurt happens, but when it happens to MY child it is even worse. I can’t fix it with a Bandaid or a popsicle. I can’t just put on a cartoon. I don’t even know unless I hear the sobbing coming through a wall. I rush in and know I am treading on thin ice. I say too much and I’ll be told to leave. As I stroke her hair and listen my heart aches for my sweet baby girl. As time passes and the crying fades a bit I interject a story of when a friend broke my heart. It seems to ease the pain if only for a few minutes until the next round of tears. I just want to fix it! Make it all go away, but I can’t.
This parenting is not getting any easier. No wonder our hair goes grey. I’m seriously having a panic attack. Where is the Tequila?

About Vanessa Bednar

I am an actor, a writer, a mom, an adventurer.

Leave a Reply

