My Fathers Day

To the father in my buried memories
Whom I ran into his arms
He was forever charming
And courageous and strong
I’m sure his whiskers tickled my face when he kissed me goodnight
But the memories are to locked deep to feel them tonight
I wonder if I will ever remember any of the fathers days I had with you
I wonder what we did… Maybe we went to the zoo
I do remember a day there when you let my stroller go fast down a hill
But you were always right there to stop it before it tumbled and I flew
Oh how exciting that was like when we would ride the fastest coasters again and again
No matter how long the line or if I had to stand on my tippy toes to get in
Who will be there for me now to catch me when I fall
Who will be there for me now to answer my pleading call
Who will be there for me now to build me a castle
Who will be there for me now to save me from disaster
Who will push me on a swing higher and higher
Who will push the merry go round till I feel like a flier
Who will tell me to suck it up when I tumble and bleed
Who will fix my bike
Who will paint my room
Who will teach my kids how to build a master piece with lumber and tools
You gave me away but not down the aisle
You just chose to leave me
And deep down I’ll always be in denial

About Vanessa Bednar

I am an actor, a writer, a mom, an adventurer.

Leave a Reply

