May Day

Happy May Day everyone. Every year as a child through fifteen my grandmother used to present me with a May Day basket filled with treasures. Simple treasures like bubbles, chalk, and a jump rope. I thought she was making up this holiday as no one else I knew got a May Day basket. It made me smile. So thank Grandma they made me smile and think about happiness. Maybe they were years of preparation to make me remember something to smile about in May, as starting when I was 16 the beginning of May was something to dread and not smile about. My father took his life May 2, four days before his birthday. The days leading up to it were not great either, even though I never would have suspected in a hundred million years he would kill himself. My point is…. thank you grandma…. This morning the first thing I thought about was those baskets and not my fathers death, so it worked…. It is the little things we do that can have a huge impact on someone else’s life. Make the effort. What can you do to make today special for someone else?

About Vanessa Bednar

I am an actor, a writer, a mom, an adventurer.

Leave a Reply

